A small statue of queen Victoria in white ceramic.

Statuette of Queen Victoria

South Australia was founded as a colony of the British Empire. For approximately 20 years it was governed completely under legal and political processes of England. In 1856 South Australia became a self-governing colony.

The coronation of Victoria as Queen of the United Kingdom, took place on 28 June 1838, just over a year after she succeeded to the throne at the age of 18. Throughout the colonial period the British Monarch was celebrated and commemorated in many ways, including the building of statues and keepsakes.

The British monarch is still Australia’s head of State today, however does not play an active role in governance.

On loan from City of Adelaide Archives, CC000471