Building a Democracy: South Australia’s First Four Premiers

After South Australia gained responsible government, elections for the two houses in the first Parliament were held in March 1857. That Parliament ran for the next three years, during which time there were four premiers. The contributions and experiences of these four men before, during and after their time in the South Australian Parliament tell us a lot about life in the new colony. Part of a broader project on the 46 premiers of South Australia, this presentation will weave together stories about the first four premiers with some glimpses into the factors and forces that shaped our democracy.

Bookings essential. Places are limited so please book early to avoid disappointment!

17 May 2021


Hetzel Theatre, State Library of SA, Institute Bldg, cnr North terrace & Kintore Ave, Adelaide



Book now »

Presented by